Gitmo 2 should stay – Parliamentary C’tee

The Foreign Affairs committee of parliament has deliberated on the agreement between Ghana and the United States to host two ex-Guantanamo Bay detainees in Ghana.

A statement presented to Parliament on Tuesday, August 1 by the Foreign Affairs Committee said the two: Mahmud Umar Muhammad Bin Atef and Khalid Muhammad Salih Al-Dhuby, should be allowed to stay in the country because they pose no threats.

“Considering the fact that no findings have linked the detainee to any terror group, and the importance of the Agreement to the strengthening of the bond between the government of Ghana and the government of the United States of America, the Committee wishes to recommend to the House to adopt its report and ratify the agreement between the Government of Ghana and the Government of the United States of America on the Resettlement in Ghana of two (2) former Guantanamo Bay detainees,” the statement said.

The agreement regarding the two was recently laid before parliament following an order by the Supreme Court.

READ ALSO: Supreme Court declares Gitmo 2 in Ghana unconstitutional

The court in June this year declared as unconstitutional, the agreement which has Ghana hosting the two ex-Guantanamo Bay detainees.

It, therefore, ordered that the agreement covering the resettlement be subjected to parliamentary approval.

It will be recalled that Margaret Banful and Henry Nana Boakye filed a suit against the Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, and Minister of Interior on the relocation of Mahmud Umar Muhammad Bin Atef and Khalid Muhammed Salih Al-Dhuby in Ghana without seeking parliamentary approval.

READ ALSO: Ex-Gitmo detainee marries in Ghana

The two ex-detainees: Mahmud Umar Muhammad Bin Atef and Khalid Muhammad Salih Al-Dhuby, arrived in Ghana on Thursday January 7, 2016 for a two-year stay as part of a deal reached between the United States of America and the Government of Ghana.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration Shirley Ayorkor Botchway on Tuesday, August 1, 2017, informed parliament that her ministry and other stakeholders will work on an “exit plan” by the time their two-year stay in Ghana expires January 6, 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *